Print this article
2018 World Boxing Federation Awards (Part 1 of 3)
                                            Bookmark and Share


AWARDS   Part 1 of 3: The 2018 World Boxing Federation (WBF) Awards: Promoter of the Year, Trainer of the Year, Referee of the Year & Administrator of the Year.

The annual World Boxing Federation (WBF) Awards are launched in three parts.

In part one we announce winners of the Promoter of the Year, Trainer of the Year, Referee of the Year and Administrator of the Year Awards.

Part 2 on January 13, Part 3 on January 15.

 Promoter Of The Year
Saul Rios (Mexico)

Borizteca Boxing Promotions.

Previous Winners:

2017: Nisse Sauerland (Germany).
2016: Kenji Maki (Japan).
2015: Mbali Zantsi (South Africa).
2014: Dexter T. Tan (Philippines).
2013: Oliver Heib & Bernhard Notar (Germany).
2012: Oswaldo Kuchle & Hector Garcia (Mexico).
2011: Damian Michael (South Africa).
2010: Ylli Ndroqi (Albania).
2009: Ulf Steinforth (Germany).


- Sometimes, giving an award is easy.

This was the case when it came to picking a “WBF Promoter of the Year”. Saul Rios of Borizteca Boxing Promotions, with six (!) promoted WBF championships in 2018 was, over the span of those 12 months, the most active WBF promoter worldwide.

Thank you and congratulations, Saul, for making it easy this year.

 Trainer Of The Year
Robert Pantigny (France)

Trainer of Mehdi Mouhib & Segolene Lefebvre.

Previous Winners:

2017: Giorgio Costantino (Switzerland).
2016: William Guillaume (France).
2015: Artur Grigorian (Germany).
2014: Ulysses Pereira (Brazil).
2013: Juan Carlos Contreras (Mexico).
2012: Alan Toweel (South Africa).
2011: Dirk Dzemski (Germany).



- Surely, for this years’ Trainer of the Year award winner, Robert Pantigny, it must feel like “What took them so long?” – such are the accumulated merits of the man from the little north French city of Douai.

And we are talking here “just” his merits with the World Boxing Federation, mind you.

Aside from coaching reigning WBF Intercontinental welterweight champion, the unbeaten Mehdi Mouhib, his current masterpiece is WBF Womens World Super Bantamweight champ Segolene Lefebvre with whom he put together a remarkable success streak over the last few years: Three title quality defenses and counting, plus a Female Fighter of the Year award (2017) and a WBF Intercontinental title for good measure.

Prior to that Pantigny lead lightheavy Mohamed Merah and Light Welter Farid Chebabha (2014) to WBF International titles. So, finally, this award is a long time coming and fully deserved for Robert Pantigny.

 Referee Of The Year
Christophe Hembert (France)

Previous Winners:

2017: Tony Weeks (USA).
2016: Zbigniew Lagosz (Poland).
2015: Bertrand Chagnoux (France).
2014: Brahim Ait Aadi (Belgium).
2013: Edward Marshall (South Africa).
2012: Tonio Tiberi (Luxembourg).
2011: Juan José Ramirez (Mexico).



- In 2012, Christophe Hembert, from Dunkerk in Northern France, refereed his first World Boxing Federation championship fight.

In 2018, he was still our most active third man in the ring. Talk about consistency.

Hembert proved his consistency beyond all doubt and continues to give excellent performances as a referee, hence this award is long overdue and hard earned over the years.

 Administrator Of The Year
Max Zuniga (Mexico)

WBF Mexican Representative.

Previous Winners:

2017: Sergio Sotelo (Mexico).
2016: Christophe Hembert (France).


- Max Zuniga, from Tijuana, was always fond of the World Boxing Federation, serving as a trustful ring official for some years.

In May of 2018, his moment came: The WBF was two days away from a double-header in his very hometown – and all of a sudden without a supervisor! Max stepped in, took over as Mexican representative for the WBF and not just saved the show, but soon proved to be a real asset to our great team.

He solidified the WBF’s standing in Mexico and while there were many serious contenders to this award over the past year, nobody did as surprising a job than Max, our “Administrator of the Year 2018”.

See WBF Award winners from previous years in our Awards section.  


| HOME |













Copyright © wbfed. -  all rights reserved     |     world boxing federation     |     |     webdesign by f.j.e.e.k. 2009     |